Exclusive: Protoje Shares Ancient Future Album Details

The latest news from reggae’s roots revivalist.

January 30, 2015

Roots revivalist Protoje has been steadily building his buzz through reggae songs that extol the easygoing vibe of island life, and check sassy girlfriends that are a little too fast for his mellow speed. Hot on the heels of his most recent single "Stylin," Protoje today unveils the tracklist and cover art of Ancient Future, his 11-song new album. The album features guest appearances from familiar roots revivalist comrades, GEN F alum Chronixx and Jesse Royal, and introduces new names like Kabaka Pyramid and Sevana to the mix.

Recording Ancient Future was a truly introspective process for reggae star. "When I write lyrics and get to hear them it's almost like looking in a mirror," Protoje told The FADER. "I try to be honest to what I was feeling in my chest; the music on this album allowed me the freedom to do so." In addition to today's album news, Protoje premieres the dub remix of his breakthrough hit, "Who Knows," with an animated video by Taj Francis. Check them out below. Ancient Future is now available for pre-order on iTunes in America and Europe.

Ancient Future tracklist:

1. Protection (feat. Mortimer)
2. Criminal
3. Who Knows (feat. Chronixx)
4. All Will Have to Change
5. Stylin'
6. Love Gone Cold (feat. Sevana)
7. Sudden Flight (feat. Jesse Royal & Sevana)
8. Bubblin'
9. Answer To Your Name
10. Who Can You Call
11. The Flame (feat. Kabaka Pyramid)

*All songs produced by Winta James.
"Bubblin'" produced by Winta James, Protoje Diggy and Paris Lamont.
"Answer To Your Name" produced by Winta James and Lewis Planter.

Exclusive: Protoje Shares Ancient Future Album Details