Hear Two Songs From Ceremony’s New Album

Their two new videos show a sharp left turn from their earlier work.

March 26, 2015

GEN F alum Ceremony just let loose two new songs to announce their new album The L-Shaped Man, which will be out on Matador May 19th. If you've been following the aggressive punk and hardcore they've been putting out for their entire existence, these somber, melodic songs will come as a shock. In the wake of singer Ross Farrar's recent breakup, they've turned to their Joy Division-like contemplative side, replacing the heaps of distortion and shouting with smooth, chugging guitar and bass lines, mellow drums, and low, droning vocals. Still, whether they're working with sweaty basement show energy or post-breakup gloominess, Ceremony knows how to write infectious songs.

The videos for "The Separation" and "The Understanding" have been stitched together into a longer-form statement, and the simple images of the band and a woman echo the new minimalism of their sound. Restraint looks good on them. They've also released a tracklist and some tour dates; check those out below.


1. Hibernation
2. Exit Fears
3. Bleeder
4. Your Life In France
5. Your Life In America
6. The Separation
7. The Pattern
8. Root Of The World
9. The Party
10. The Bridge
11. The Understanding

Tour dates:

05/22 Berkeley, CA - 924 Gilman
05/23 Los Angeles, CA - Echoplex
07/01 New York, NY - Bowery Ballroom
08/08 London, UK - Visions Festival

Posted: March 26, 2015
Hear Two Songs From Ceremony’s New Album