Dr. Dre Will Release His New Album Compton: A Soundtrack On Apple Music

You can stream the album Thursday before it hits stores Friday.

August 01, 2015

On his Beats 1 Radio show The Pharmacy, Dr. Dre announced an album of brand new music to coincide with Straight Outta Compton, F. Gary Gray's NWA biopic. Compton: A Soundtrack By Dr. Drewill be released on August 7 exclusively on Apple Music (not the 1st, as Ice Cube said). That's the cover art above.

But what about Detox, his long-delayed third solo album? According to Dre himself, it's been scrapped because he wasn't been happy with what he'd created:


"I didn't like it. It wasn't good. The record, it just wasn't good...I worked my ass off on it, and I don't think I did a good enough job."

On the bright side, Compton's tracklisting is something to behold. Peep it below then preorder on iTunes.


Compton: A Soundtrack By Dr. Dre

1. Intro (feat. Dr. Dre)
2. Talk About It (feat. King Mez & Justus)
3. Genocide (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
4. It’s All On Me (feat. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid)
5. All In a Day’s Work (feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
6. Darkside/Gone (feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
7. Loose Cannons (feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)
8. Issues (feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)
9. Deep Water (feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)
10. One Shot One Kill (feat. Snoop Dogg & Jon Connor)
11. Just Another Day (feat. Asia Bryant & The Game)
12. For the Love of Money (feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)
13. Satisfiction (feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
14. Animals (feat. Anderson Paak)
15. Medicine Man (feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)
16. Talking To My Diary (feat. Dr. Dre)

Update, 8/04/2015, 3:10 PM: Dr. Dre's new album will be available for streaming on Apple Music for three hours the day before it hits stores.

For fans who can't wait until Friday, you're in luck: Compton: A Soundtrack will be streaming for free on Apple Music from 6 PM - 9 PM PST. After the stream, Zane Lowe's Beats 1 show will be dedicated to the new album.

You can pre-order Compton here.

Dr. Dre Will Release His New Album Compton: A Soundtrack On Apple Music