Austra Announce Future Politics Album, Share A New Video For “Utopia”

The Toronto group’s third full-length is due out January 20 via Domino/Pink Fizz Records.

October 19, 2016

Toronto electro-pop crew Austra have announced the follow-up to 2014's Olympia album. The group will release a new project entitled Future Politics on January 20 via Domino/Pink Fizz Records and have shared a new video for lead single "Utopia."


Austra's frontwoman Katie Stelmanis calls the new record “a commitment to replace the approaching dystopia.” On the new album Stelmanis is supported by Maya Postepski, Dorian Wolf, and Ryan Wonsiak. “Not just hope in the future, but the idea that everyone is required to help write it, and the boundaries of what it can look like are both fascinating and endless. It’s not about ‘being political’, it’s about reaching beyond boundaries, in every single field,” Stelmanis continued in a statement.

Austra's Future Politics is now available for pre-order on Bandcamp. Watch the new video for "Utopia" above and find the tracklist for the album below.


Austra Future Politics tracklist:

1. We Were Alive
2. Future Politics
3. Utopia
4. I'm A Monster
5. I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
6. Angel In Your Eye
7. Freepower
8. Gaia
9. Beyond A Mortal
10. Deep Thought
11. 43

Austra Announce Future Politics Album, Share A New Video For “Utopia”