Kamasi Washington Announces Harmony Of Difference EP

The saxophonist’s first new project since 2015 is due out September 29.

July 31, 2017
Kamasi Washington Announces <i>Harmony Of Difference</i> EP Kamasi Washington performs at Tyler, the Creator's 5th Annual Camp Flog Gnaw Carnival, November 12, 2016.   Kevin Winter / Getty Images

Kamasi Washington has announced the release date for his upcoming Harmony Of Difference EP, his first new project since 2015's The Epic.


Washington debuted the the six-song project at the Whitney Biennial in March along with a film by A.G. Rojas and artwork by Amani Washington. The vinyl release of Harmony Of Difference will include a booklet that features stills from the film and pictures of Amani Washington's art.

"My hope is that witnessing the beautiful harmony created by merging different musical melodies will help people realize the beauty in our own differences," Washington said of the project in a statement on Monday.


See the tracklist and the cover art for the EP below. Kamasi Washington will head out on tour in November. Check out his tour itinerary here.


Harmony Of Difference tracklist:

1. Desire
2. Humility
3. Knowledge
4. Perspective
5. Integrity
6. Truth

Kamasi Washington Announces Harmony Of Difference EP