Khalid, John Mayer, And More Speak Out Against DACA Repeal

Spotify created a playlist protesting President Trump’s recent action.

September 05, 2017

Today President Donald J. Trump made a decision that will affect around 800,000 young people in the country by moving to slowly repeal Barack Obama’s Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals policy, known as DACA.


In response to this cruel action, celebrities and politicians have been speaking out via Twitter, and Spotify created a 56-track playlist with artists’ statements against the repeal. The playlist titled “No Moment For Silence” also includes a variety of tracks, from “We The People” by A Tribe Called Quest to “Despacito.” Camila Cabello, Daddy Yankee, and Logic are among the artists included in the playlist. “With having lived in a border city, I have so many friends whose families could possibly lose their legal status in the country that they grew up in,” Khalid says on his track. “Please stand for the dreamers and let them know that they are not alone, and that they have our support.”

The executive action by Obama allowed children under the age of 16 who arrived before 2007 to stay in the country legally. Those eligible could apply for a two-year, renewable permit that allows them to work, get a driver’s license, and receive a social security number. By reversing the policy, those thousands of dreamers will be returned to their former undocumented status and have no protection from deportation under the law. If Congress does not pass new legislation to protect dreamers, DACA will start phasing out March 5, 2018.

Listen to the Spotify playlist below and read a round-up of responses posted online by artists.