Blood Orange returns with “Jesus Freak Lighter”

New EP Four Songs drops next week.

September 08, 2022
Blood Orange returns with “Jesus Freak Lighter” Blood Orange

Dev Hynes has announced his first Blood Orange project in over three years. Four Songs, an EP consisting of... four songs, will be released on September 16. You can hear "Jesus Freak Lighter" from the EP now. Scroll down to check it out.


Four Songs will feature contributions from Ian Isaiah, Eva Tolkin, and Erika de Casier. It marks Hynes' first release on new label RCA Records. His previous work, dating back as far as his time as a member of Test Icicles, was released via indie label Domino.

The most recent Blood Orange release was Angel's Pulse, a mixtape that dropped in 2019. Since then Hynes has focused largely on film and TV work, providing scores to the HBO series We Are Who We Are, plus Gia Coppola's Mainstream, the Netflix documentary Naomi Osaka, and Passing, starring Tessa Thompson and Ruth Negga. He has also scored the upcoming Paul Schrader film, Master Gardener, which premiered at the Venice Film Festival this month.


Hynes can currently be seen opening for Harry Styles, where he is the support act on all fifteen dates of the pop star's Madison Square Garden residency.

Four Songs tracklist:

"Jesus Freak Lighter"
"Something You Know"
"Relax & Run"

Blood Orange returns with “Jesus Freak Lighter”