Loraine James announces new album Gentle Confrontation, shares new song

“2003” is the first single from the London producer’s latest full-length.

May 23, 2023
Loraine James announces new album <i>Gentle Confrontation</i>, shares new song Ivor Alice

Loraine James has announced details of her new album, sharing the LP’s first single alongside the announcement. The album is titled Gentle Confrontation and it’s out on September 22 via Hyperdub. The lead single is "2003" — listen to that and see the Gentle Confrontation tracklist below. The album includes guest appearances from vocalists KeiyaA and George Riley.


Press materials note that "2003" takes its name from the year James' father passed away and that the album in general harks back to her teenage years, bringing math rock and emo influences into her sound.

James released her debut full-length For You and I in 2019 and followed it with the 2021 album Reflection. Last year she shared her self-titled debut under the electronic moniker Whatever the Weather and released Building Something Beautiful for Me, an album of music reinterpreting the work of American composer Julius Eastman. She also dropped a collaborative EP with TSVI called 053.

Gentle Confrontation tracklist

1. Gentle Confrontation
2. 2003
3. Let U Go (feat. KeiyaA)
4. Déjà Vu (feat. RiTchie)
5. Prelude of Tired of Me
6. Glitch The System (Glitch Bitch 2)
7. I DM U
8. One Way Ticket To The Midwest (Emo) (feat. Corey Mastrangelo)
9. Cards With The Grandparents
10. While They Were Singing (feat. Marina Herlop)
11. Try For Me (feat. Eden Samara)
12. Tired of Me
13. Speechless (feat. George Riley)
14. Disjointed (Feeling Like a Kid Again)
15. I’m Trying To Love Myself
16. Saying Goodbye ft Contour

Loraine James announces new album Gentle Confrontation, shares new song