Teklife and Hyperdub Honor DJ Rashad with New Compilation Record

Proceeds from the sales of a tribute album to the late producer will benefit his son.

October 01, 2014

The world of footwork was rocked this past April with the tragic death of DJ Rashad. Now his Teklife crew and UK label Hyperdub will pay tribute to the Chicago footwork pioneer with the upcoming release of a new 20-track compilation album Next Life, Spin reported Wednesday. (See the track list below.) All profits from the album's sales will go into a fund for Rashad's son, according to Hyperdub's Facebook page. Since his passing, Rashad's memory has been honored at musical events, including at Afropunk Fest in Brooklyn, New York, and at the Pitchfork Festival in his hometown of Chicago. And now this latest work which gathers together tracks from his Teklife collaborators will certainly serve as another poignant reminder of the footwork producer's legacy. Next Life will released on November 11th. 

Next Life track list:

1. DJ Spinn & Taso - "Burn That Kush"
2. DJ Earl & DJ Taye - "Do This Again"
3. DJ Taye x Heaveex DJ Phil - "The Matrixx"
4. DJ Phil - "Godz House"
5. DJ Tre - "DNB Spaceout"        
6. Traxman - "Sit Ya Self Down"
7. Sirr Tmo - "Live in Chicago Subways" 
8. RP Boo - "That's It 4 Lil Ma"                
9. Gantman -  "Jungle Juke"              
10. DJ Manny - "Harvey Rachet"              
11. Boylan - "He Watchin Us"               
12. DJ Paypal - "Fm Blast"                
13. DJ Earl & DJ Taye - "Wurkinn Da Bass"     
14. Rashad x Spinn x Taso x Manny - "OTS"
15. Heavee - "8 Bit Shit"
16. Tripletrain - "Never Could Be"
17. Durban - "I'm So"
18. Taso - "Drop That Thang"
19. DJ Chap - "Glacier Bae"
20. DJ Paypal x Feloneezy x Jackie Dagger - "U should No"

Posted: October 01, 2014
Teklife and Hyperdub Honor DJ Rashad with New Compilation Record