DARKSIDE confirm new album details, share “The Limit”

Nicolás Jaar and Dave Harrington will release their long-awaited second album this July.

April 08, 2021
DARKSIDE confirm new album details, share “The Limit” Jed DeMoss

DARKSIDE, the duo of Nicolás Jaar and Dave Harrington, have announced details of a new studio album. Spiral is due on July 23 via Matador Records and is preceded by new song "The Limit," streaming below.


The recording of Spiral began in 2018 when Harrington and Jaar rented a small house in Flemington, New Jersey and began working on a song a day. The remaining work on the record was done over the following 18 months.

"From the beginning, DARKSIDE has been our jam band. Something we did on days off," Jaar said in a statement. "When we reconvened, it was because we really couldn't wait to jam together again”. Harrington added: “It felt like it was time again. We do things in this band that we would never do on our own. DARKSIDE is the third being in the room that just kind of occurs when we make music together."


Spiral is DARKSIDE's first album since 2013 debut Psychic. The duo shared "Liberty Bell" late last year. Both members of the group have remained busy in the past eight years, Jaar released five albums under his name and two further projects under the moniker Against All Logic. Harrington, meanwhile, released two albums with his Dave Harrington Group.

Spiral tracklist:

"Narrow Road"
"The Limit"
"The Question Is To See It All"
"I’m The Echo"
"Liberty Bell"
"Inside Is Out There"
"Only Young"

DARKSIDE confirm new album details, share “The Limit”