XL Recordings Turns 25 in Style with New Compilation

The London record company is marking its 25th anniversary with the history-spanning set ‘Pay Close Attention.’

August 05, 2014

From “Firestarter," the Prodigy's 1996 No.1 hit on the British charts, to Dizzee Rascal's Mercury Music Prize win for Boy in Da Corner in 2003 to The xx's quiet triumph of a debut in 2009, UK indie label XL Recordings have plenty to celebrate in their 25 year history. To mark the anniversary, XL are giving themselves a well-deserved pat on the back with Pay Close Attention, a new compilation set due out on August 25 that features music from some of those aforementioned acts along with Radiohead, Adele, Vampire Weekend, the late Gil Scott-Heron, Basement Jaxx, M.I.A. and others. To top things off, the label has also launched the Pay Close Attention website that features performance footage from the likes of Tyler the Creator and the White Stripes. “XL Recordings is a collaborative endeavour, and many people have contributed to its evolution,” writes XL owner Richard Russell in the collection's liner notes. “The rave music XL first became known for was known as “hardcore”; that spirit continues.” Peep the full tracklist below.

Disc 1
1. SL2 - DJs Take Control
2. The Prodigy - Out Of Space
3. Awesome 3 - Don’t Go (Kicks Like A Mule Mix)
4. Liquid - Sweet Harmony
5. Jonny L - Piper
6. Roy Davis Jr. featuring Peven Everett - Gabriel (Live Garage Version)
7. Dem 2 - Destiny
8. Nu-Birth - Anytime
9. Basement Jaxx - Jump N’Shout
10. Dizzee Rascal - I Luv U
11. Wiley - Igloo
12. Various Production - Hater
13. Giggs - Talkin The Hardest
14. SBTRKT - Wildfire (featuring Little Dragon)
15. Jamie xx - All Under One Roof Raving

Disc 2
1. The Prodigy - Firestarter
2. Peaches - Fuck The Pain Away
3. The White Stripes - Seven Nation Army
4. Devendra Banhart - I Feel Just Like A Child
5. Ratatat - Seventeen Years
6. M.I.A. - Paper Planes
7. Thom Yorke - The Eraser
8. Gil Scott-Heron - New York Is Killing Me
9. Radiohead - Weird Fishes / Arpeggi
10. Tyler, The Creator - Yonkers
11. The Horrors - Sea Within A Sea
12. Jai Paul - BTSTU (demo)
13. Bobby Womack - Please Forgive My Heart
14. The xx - Angels
15. Sampha - Too Much
16. Vampire Weekend - Step
17. King Krule - Easy Easy
18. Adele - Rolling In The Deep

XL Recordings Turns 25 in Style with New Compilation